Penobscot County Fund

Total applications received in last grant cycle: 27 applications for a total of $387,131
Grant dollars awarded: $179,718
Percentage of applicants that received grants: 52%
Number of grants awarded: 13
Additional grant dollars awarded through donor-advised fund referrals: $62,250
Application deadline: February 15

Recent grants from the Penobscot County Fund


The Penobscot County Fund was established in 2009 with a $100,000 contribution from the Junior League of Bangor, Maine. The fund serves as a permanent endowment providing annual grant support to local nonprofits engaged in community building projects. The Penobscot County Fund awarded its first grants in the spring of 2010.

Since its founding in 1983, the Maine Community Foundation has provided grant support to nonprofits in Penobscot County. In 1996, the Penobscot Valley Health Association transferred its remaining assets to the foundation to start a field-of-interest fund to support organizations and projects that strengthen the health and welfare of the Greater Bangor community.

Other ways the community foundation is serving the region

  • The Penobscot Valley Health Association Fund, now managed by the Penobscot County Fund Committee, supports nonprofits that propose innovative ways to strengthen the health and welfare of the Greater Bangor community
  • Penobscot County scholarships
  • The community foundation manages more than $4.8 million in charitable long-term funds on behalf of other nonprofit organizations throughout Penobscot County.

To make a donation or for more information about the Penobscot County Fund

Please contact Laura Reed at the Maine Community Foundation by phone at (207) 564-3236, or by e-mail at


Penobscot County Committee

Matthew Polstein, Chair, Millinocket

Susan Hammond, Vice Chair, Bangor

Dr. Frank Bragg, Bangor

Susan Carlisle, Bangor

Kate Fogler, Exeter

Judy Horan, Bangor

David Irving, Lincoln

Aram Khavari, Bangor

Rabbi Darah Lerner, Bangor

Shirar Patterson, Milford

Kate Rush, Newport