Oxford County Fund


The Oxford County Committee, front row from left: Leanne Candura, Sara Stockwell, and Joanne Eaton. Back row: Kathy Chaiklin, Kate Goldberg, Don Verrill, Greg Fraser, and Patty Duguay.
The Oxford County Fund was established in 1997 with an anonymous gift. The fund's advisory committee awarded initial grants to Community Concepts and the River Valley Healthy Communities Coalition, among other nonprofits in the region. Since that time, the Oxford County Committee has awarded over $328,500 in grants.

The purpose of the fund is to support organizations and projects that serve Oxford County. The Oxford County Committee reviews grant applications received through the Community Building grant program that serve Oxford County. They make recommendations to fund those applications that meet the grant program criteria and that have the greatest potential for positive impact on the quality of life in Oxford County.

Other ways the community foundation is serving the region

  • In addition to the Oxford County Fund, the foundation holds more than $1.1 million in assets dedicated to Oxford County through donor-advised funds, scholarships, designated funds to support specific organizations, and field-of-interest funds.
  • The foundation has generated more than $159,000 in additional grant support for Oxford County nonprofits from its network of donors for proposals submitted to the foundation’s competitive grant programs.
  • The Starbird Scholarship Fund, established by Pearl Starbird, supports graduates of Oxford County high schools and Lake Region High School who plan on majoring in either music or the arts.
  • Oxford County scholarships
  • The community foundation manages more than $1.4 million in charitable long-term funds on behalf of other nonprofit organizations throughout Oxford County.

To make a donation or for more information about the Oxford County Fund

Please contact Laura Lee, senior program officer, by phone, toll-free, at (207) 412-0838 or by e-mail at llee@mainecf.org.

Oxford County Committee

Sara Stockwell, Chair, Waterford/Newry

Kathy Chaiklin, Vice Chair, Porter

Patty Duguay, Byron

Joanne Eaton, Waterford

Greg Fraser, Newry

Scott Smith, Bethel

Don Verrill, Otisfield

Grant Application Form

Go to the Maine Community Foundation Online Grant Application